Colorado ban takes effect Dec. 1
November 25, 2009
DENVER (AP) – It will soon be illegal for drivers in Colorado to text, e-mail or tweet when they’re behind the wheel.
The ban passed by the Legislature will take effect Tuesday, Dec. 1. The new law will also bar drivers under 18 from talking on their cell phones.
The law that passed is weaker than one originally proposed at the Capitol. It would have also barred adult drivers from talking on cell phones unless they used a handsfree device.
Under the new law, texting while driving is a primary offense so police can pull drivers over based on that violation alone.
Drivers could be fined $50 for texting while they drive and repeat offenders could be fined $100.