Colorado lawmakers consider rolling back late registration fees
January 28, 2010
DENVER (AP) – Colorado lawmakers are considering scaling back late vehicle registration fees passed last year.Three proposals have been introduced in the Senate so far.Two would get rid of the new $25 a month late fee and replace it with a $10 fee that could be waived by county clerks. The other would exempt just boat trailers and other non-motorized from the $25 late fee and replace it with a $10 fee that could be waived.The Senate Veterans & Military Affairs Committee considered them Wednesday but delayed a vote to wait for similar proposals being developed in the House.The penalties were part of a bill to increase registration fees to raise $250 million a year for bridge and road repairs. Chairman Rollie Heath said lawmakers never intended to target boat trailers.