Grand Lake Fire voters reject eliminating term limits |

Grand Lake Fire voters reject eliminating term limits

Tonya Bina

The following results are from the special district elections, which took place on Tuesday, May 8.

Grand Lake Fire District: the majority of voters opposed the district eliminating board-member term limits. The ballot question did not pass, with 189 no votes to 139 yes votes.

Uncontested, Chris Ruske and Fred Schroeder were elected onto the board. A total of 60 walk-in voters attended the polling-place election, and 272 permanent mail-in voters returned their ballots.

Grand Lake Metropolitan Recreation District: Incumbent Donnie Summers gained 266 votes and William Cottrell gained 166 votes to be elected onto the recreation board. Challenger George Coolin fell short of being elected by just 9 votes, with 157. A total of 85 voters attended the polling-place election, and 264 voters returned their mail-in ballots.

Granby Fire: In “unofficial” results, incumbent Jeff Crane garnered 258 votes and his challenger Gary Nordloh had 238 votes, putting them on the district board.

Incumbent Mark Krieg pulled in 226 votes, while challenger Clifford Wood had 206 votes.

Recommended Stories For You

The district received 420 mailed ballots, while 73 people went to the poll.

SilverCreek Water and Sanitation District: The three incumbents won in the SilverCreek water and sanitation election: David Bailey had 43 votes; Tom Sifers had 79; and Wayde Walker garnered 88. Losing by three votes in the race for the four-year term, Rick Jernigan took in 40 votes. Incumbent James Pedersen, who ran unopposed for the board’s two-year term seat, had 77 votes. A total of 93 people returned their ballots in the mail-ballot election.

Winter Park Ranch Water and Sanitation District: Incumbents Jon Westerlund, with 104 votes, and Jim Cordell, with 100 votes, won back their board seats for another four years. Challenger John Althoff gained 33 votes. A total of 135 ballots were returned to the district in the mail-ballot election.

Go back to article