781 citations issued during rural seat belt enforcement
Last year, 215 unbuckled drivers and passengers were killed in crashes in Colorado, accounting for more than half of the state’s 410 total passenger vehicle deaths. To address low seat belt usage in rural areas, the Colorado Department of Transportation, Colorado State Patrol and local law enforcement agencies recently activated a weeklong Click It or Ticket seat belt enforcement in rural counties across the state.
The enforcement cited 781 unbuckled drivers and passengers between March 25 and 31. Of these, 66 were drivers cited for not ensuring children under the age of 15 were buckled in their vehicle. Fines for not buckling up start at $65, and parents or caregivers who have an improperly restrained child in their vehicle can receive a minimum fine of $82.
The Grand County Sheriff’s Office issued a total of seven citations, all for speeding.
The Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office, with 163 citations; Bayfield Marshal’s Office, with 41 citations; and Alamosa Police Department, with 32 citations recorded the most citations. State patrol issued 254 citations. Comprehensive results from all participating agencies can be found at codot.gov/safety/traffic-safety-reporting-portal.
“Seatbelts save lives, and we implore the public to help reduce injury and death on the road by buckling up,” said CDOT Director Shoshana Lew. “This is one of the easiest and most impactful safety choices we can make each day.”
“We hope that those who received citations during this enforcement period are more aware of the dangers of driving unrestrained,” said Col. Matthew Packard, chief of CSP. “It’s simple — if everyone in the state commits to wearing a seat belt every time they enter a vehicle, we would see less injuries and fatalities on our roads.”
To keep impaired drivers off of roads during spring activities, the Colorado Department of Transportation, Colorado State Patrol and statewide law enforcement agencies will increase DUI patrols during The Heat Is On Spring Events enforcement period. The five-week enforcement begins today and aims to keep impaired drivers off Colorado roads as people take advantage of warmer weather and spring activities.
“Last year, 41 alcohol-related traffic fatalities occurred in April and May combined,” said Darrell Lingk, director of CDOT’s Office of Transportation Safety. “In addition to significant financial costs, driving impaired puts both the driver and others on the road at serious risk.”
Colorado DUI laws are enforced for all impairing substances, not just alcohol. Last year, 1,932 drivers were arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol, marijuana or other drugs during the five-week spring DUI enforcement. The cost of a DUI can amount to over $13,500 when considering fines, legal fees and insurance costs.
Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.