A voter guide to May 6 special district elections | SkyHiNews.com

A voter guide to May 6 special district elections

Voting Booths
Getty Images/iStockphoto | iStockphoto

Tuesday, May 6, is Election Day in Grand County when several contentious election races for seats on special district boards are slated. Absentee ballots are available for each of the elections, however you must submit an application in order to receive one. If you were on the Permanent Mail-in Voter list through the county, be advised that the list no longer exists as of last year due to state legislation HB 1303 changes. This means that you will not receive an absentee ballot through the mail unless you submit an application with each of the districts. Voters can find the applications on the individual districts’ websites. The last day to request an absentee ballot was May 2. In order to be counted, absentee ballots are due back at the polling location by 7 p.m. on May 6. Residents of specific districts can also vote in person at the designated polling site of each district from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., on May 6.

Qualifications to vote

In order to qualify as an elector in a special district election, the person must be a registered voter in Colorado and a resident of that district; or the owner or spouse of the owner of taxable real or personal property within the boundaries of the district. A person (and spouse) who is obligated to pay taxes under a contract to purchase taxable property (mortgage) within the district is also eligible. (Note: A partnership, corporation or trust is not a “person” and therefore a person owning property through such a legal entity is not eligible to vote. Perspective voters can check their voting status online at co.grand.us.

Recreation Districts

Fraser Valley Metropolitan Recreation District also has a heated race in progress, with incumbents Andrew Chasin and John Glancey running against Michael Shawn Moynahan, David McKnight, David Jens Peterson and Kimberly Hanna for three seats with four-year terms. Current president Dan O’Connell, has served two consecutive terms and is term-limited.

This election is predominately mail-in ballot. To register to vote if resident of Colorado and own property in the district, go to http://www.co.grand.co.us/147/Elections for a voter registration application. To vote in person, a polling center is open at the Grand County Administration Building every business day up to and including Election Day, when it will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

If you are a registered voter in Colorado and own property in the district, call the election department if you have not received a ballot: Sara Rosene, Designated Election Official, 970-725-3347.

Too late to mail in your ballot? Voters may drop off their mail-in ballots at the Grand Park Community Recreation Center, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day, May 6.

Grand Lake Metropolitan Recreation District has seven candidates running for three four-year-term positions. Board member Ed Peterson is stepping down and incumbent George Coolen, who is presently the board’s vice president, is running for re-election. Also in the ring for board of director seats are Patrick Williams, John Murray, Jason Allen, Tony Beckley, Steve White and Dave Boelter. Ballots are due at the polling place (the firehouse) on Election Day (where voters can also walk in and cast their votes) by 7 p.m., or they can be mailed to: PO Box 590 in Grand Lake, CO, 80447. For more information, contact Kathy Lewis at 970-627-8580.

Fire Protection Districts

Grand Fire Protection District No. 1 is located in Granby at 60500 U.S. Highway 40, next to Kaibab Park. Grand Fire has three seats on its Board of Directors up for grabs, with incumbents Mike Brooks, Dick Himes and Rod Lock running against three new candidates: Alina Bell, Wayne Kerber and Sue Thurston. Residents of this district must go to the firehouse between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. on Election Day. For more information, call 970-887-3380.

Grand Lake Fire Protection District has a heated election brewing with 10 candidates running for three board seats that have four-year terms. Donald Dean is the sole incumbent. Also vying for those seats are Richard Campbell, Jason Allen, Patricia Farmer, Mindy Everhart, Larry Malouff, Scott Huff, Jeffrey Buckley, Richard Sisung and Frank Reardon. Voting will take place from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the firehouse, located at 201 West Portal Road. It will be a shared polling place on Election Day with three different-colored ballots for Grand Lake’s Fire Protection District, the Rec District and Three Lakes Water & Sanitation District. For more information, contact Cheryl Dale at 970-627-8428 or email her at cdale@grandlakefire.org.

East Grand Fire Protection District No. 4 (in Fraser) will not have an election on May 6 because the three incumbents whose terms are up are running for re-election unopposed: Peggy Woods, Rick Kramer and Steve Loo.

The Kremmling Fire Protection District will not be holding elections, as candidates Mike Clark, Scott Spade and Jim Sloan will be seeking four-year terms and Don Eggers will be running for a two-year term. All five candidates are running unopposed, and Rich Rosene will complete the remaining two years of his four-year term.

The Hot Sulfur Springs/Parshall Fire Protection District will also not be holding elections, as the two board directors who are up for re-election, Mike Thompson and Rod Sale, are running unopposed. Board President Jeff Green is retiring after serving nearly 10 years because he has reached term limits, and Treasurer Joe Mulder is also stepping down after a term and a half to concentrate on other aspects of the fire department. Newcomers Joe Verbas and Rob Firth will take those seats on the board without opposition.

Water Districts

Three Lakes Water & Sanitation District is also seeing healthy interest in board seats, more than in past years. District voters will be voting in two directors for four-year terms. Candidates running for those two seats include Connie Robertson, Daniel S. Knox, Bernie Keefe, Julia Nessen-Gasner and Steve White. The district will also be electing one director for a two-year term. Candidates for that position include Patricia Farmer, Rudy Perez and John Hanick.

Winter Park Water & Sanitation District, Winter Park Ranch Water & Sewer District, Silver Creek Water & Sanitation District and Kremmling Sanitation District elections have been cancelled because of the same number vacancies as number of people running.

In all, there are 54 special districts in Grand County. We highlighted the largest among them. For districts you are interested in, call them directly to find out about specific election information. To learn more about candidates in other districts, obtain contact information from election officials and contact the candidates directly.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

The Sky-Hi News strives to deliver powerful stories that spark emotion and focus on the place we live.

Over the past year, contributions from readers like you helped to fund some of our most important reporting, including coverage of the East Troublesome Fire.

If you value local journalism, consider making a contribution to our newsroom in support of the work we do.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User