Call for nominations for Excellence in Healthcare |

Call for nominations for Excellence in Healthcare

The Grand County Rural Health Network is accepting nominations for the 2016 Therese McElroy Award for Excellence in Healthcare Service. Write 500 words about someone who best personifies service in healthcare and would be a worthy role model to be emulated by others.

Therese McElroy, RN was honored with the first ever award in 2013 for 50 years of service, most of which was in Grand County. McElroy is a modern-day “Nursey Young”; she is a modern-day healthcare provider that truly shaped the way healthcare is provided and delivered in Grand County. McElroy has worked in a variety of settings locally, including the hospital, school nurse and home health. She is an example of excellence in healthcare service. Past recipients include: Mary Jo Hargadine, RN in 2014; Hannah Foley, NP and Ray Jennings in 2015.

Future award recipients should be in the healthcare field, either professionally or as a volunteer. They do not have to be a healthcare provider, but someone who has significantly contributed to healthcare locally. Nominees are voted on and selected by the Board of Directors. Recipients are honored at the Network’s Bulls, Boots, and BBQ fundraiser on August 19, 2016. Nominations due by May 20. Email for more information.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

The Sky-Hi News strives to deliver powerful stories that spark emotion and focus on the place we live.

Over the past year, contributions from readers like you helped to fund some of our most important reporting, including coverage of the East Troublesome Fire.

If you value local journalism, consider making a contribution to our newsroom in support of the work we do.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User