Primary wraps up Tuesday |

Primary wraps up Tuesday

Colorado’s 2018 primary election is drawing to a close but voters still have time to submit their ballots before the 7 p.m. deadline on Tuesday.

Primary elections precede general elections and serve to determine which candidate from a given party will appear on the official general election ballot in November. A slate of local and state seats are being contested in 2018 with notable contests for Colorado’s governor, secretary of state, state treasurer and attorney general at the state level.

At the local level all county seat incumbents and candidates are running unopposed in their respective party’s primary though multiple candidates are vying for both Grand County Commissioner and Grand County Clerk and Recorder in the general election.

Arguably Colorado’s most high profile race of 2018 is the contest to replace term-limited Governor John Hickenlooper as chief executive of the state. The 2018 primary ballot features four candidates for both of the two major parties. The Republican field includes current State Treasurer Walker Stapleton and former State Representative Victor Mitchell. Contesting the party’s nomination are two Front Range area businessmen Greg Lopez and Doug Robinson.

The Democrat Party race for governor also includes four individuals. US Representative Jared Polis and former State Treasurer Cary Kennedy are running for the nomination along with former Lieutenant Governor Donna Lynne and former State Senator Mike Johnson.

Other notable statewide primary elections this year include the race for state treasurer. The Democrat Party has two candidates on the ballot, Dave Young and Bernard Douthit; while the Republican Party has three candidates, Justin Everett, Polly Lawrence and Brian Watson. The two candidates running for attorney general as Democrats, Phil Weiser and Joe Salazar, have also garnered a fair amount of attention this spring.

The Democrats also have two individuals running for the party nomination for U.S. Representative of the 116th Congressional District, Joe Neguse and Mark Williams. Jared Polis currently occupies that seat.

This year’s primary election marks a unique change in the way Colorado’s voters select the candidates that will appear on the upcoming general election ballot in November. In 2016 voters in the state approved Proposition 108, granting unaffiliated voters the opportunity to vote in one party’s primary election despite not being a registered member of that party.

Voters registered with a particular party will receive only their party’s primary ballot but unaffiliated voters will receive both a Republican and Democrat Party primary ballot. Unaffiliated voters can cast only one primary ballot though and must choose between voting in either the Republican or Democratic primary. If an unaffiliated voters attempts to vote in both primaries, both ballots will be invalidated.

Grand County voters can drop their ballots off at one of five different locations. Drop boxes are located outside the Grand County Administration Building in Hot Sulphur Springs, at the CSU Extension Hall in Kremmling, at the Grand Park Community Recreation Center in Fraser and at both the Granby and Grand Lake Town Halls.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

The Sky-Hi News strives to deliver powerful stories that spark emotion and focus on the place we live.

Over the past year, contributions from readers like you helped to fund some of our most important reporting, including coverage of the East Troublesome Fire.

If you value local journalism, consider making a contribution to our newsroom in support of the work we do.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User