Dozens file petitions to run for offices in Grand County towns |

Dozens file petitions to run for offices in Grand County towns

Tonya Bina/Sky-Hi Daily News

In the midst of national and state election excitement, Colorado’s hometown municipal elections are shaping up.

Petitions are in and signatures are verified, so it’s time to start sizing up town candidates ” any of whom could be a neighbor down the street.

The mayoral races are sizzling in Middle Park, with four candidates running for mayor in Granby, three aiming for the mayoralty in Grand Lake and two in Fraser.

Election day for Colorado’s statutory towns (all towns in Grand County except Winter Park) is April 1.

Hot Sulphur Springs

Six trustee seats on the town board are up for grabs this April.

The top three vote-getters will be elected for four-year terms, the bottom three will have two-year commitments.

The board members whose terms are up are Susan Whitefeather, Clint Roberts, Bob Shirley, Maura Ransom, Kathy Knight and Darin Foran.

Whitefeather and Roberts are not running for re-election.

The town had six petition packets turned in, which indicates no election in Hot Sulphur Springs this April.

Incumbents are Maura Ransom, Darin Foran, Kathy Knight, and Bob Shirley. Candidates are Summer Shuster and Christopher Welch.

Grand Lake

Four seats are up on the Grand Lake board, including three trustees and the mayoral seat. Trustee Pat Engelhardt is not running for re-election and trustee Glenn Harrington is vying for mayor. That leaves Kathy Lewis as the sole trustee incumbent. All slots are four-year terms.

Three candidates are running for Grand Lake Mayor. They are: Incumbent Judy Burke, Glenn Harrington and Russ Martin.

There are three openings for trustees and four candidates running. They are: incumbent Kathy Lewis; Elmer Lanzi; Joanne Jewell; and Gary Gates.


Election enthusiasm is palpable in Granby with notable interest shown for the town board races.

Five Granby seats are up for election this spring, including the mayor and four trustees. Eleven citizens have announced their candidacies.

The three trustee candidates with the most votes will have four-year terms and the remaining candidate will have a two-year term. The mayor has a four-year term.

Mayor Ted Wang is running for re-election and Charles LaBrake (who fulfilled the term of former trustee Joe Cross) is running for town trustee along with incumbent Deborah J.K. Shaw. The spot left open by Trustee Mark Bujanovich was filled by Kirk Arnold, who is now running for mayor. Trustee Robin Trainor is not running for another term.

Four candidates are running for Granby Mayor. They are: Kirk Arnold, Ted Wang, Jynnifer Pierro and Joseph Fuqua.

Seven candidates are running for four trustee spots. They are: Charles LaBrake, Greg Gutheridge, Pete Gallo, Deborah J.K. Shaw, Greg A. Mordini, Travis Burmaster and Elaine Henrekin.


Three seats including the mayor’s are up for election in Fraser.

The mayoral seat, a four-year term, is currently occupied by Fran Cook.

Three trustees seats, belonging to Joyce Burford, Eric Hoyhtya and Vesta Shapiro, will appear on the ballot. One seat is a four-year term, two are two-year terms.

Mayor Cook is running for re-election with challenger Samuel Talbert.

For the trustees race, five citizens are running for three seats: Incumbents Joyce Burford, Eric Hoyhtya and Vesta Shapiro, along with candidates Scott Brent and Kim Linin.


Three trustees seats are up for election in April. They are held by Jim Sloan, Peggy Colburn and Ken Bentler. All three seats are four-year terms, and Ken Bentler is the sole incumbent running for re-election.

Running are Isaac Schonlau, Eric Woog, John Adams and Ken Bentler.

Winter Park

Winter Park is the only home rule town in the county. Its election is on April 8.

Applicants’ petitions are not due in until March 10, so a list of official candidates is not yet available.

Council members Jim Myers, Chris Seemann, Mike Periolat, and Rusty Thompson have terms expiring in April.

Three of the seats are four-year terms, decided by the most number of votes. The remaining seat is a two-year term.

Council members choose the mayor and mayor pro-tem for two-year terms, but Mayor Nick Teverbaugh’s term is not up until 2010.

” Tonya Bina can be reached at 887-3334 ext. 19603 or e-mail

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

The Sky-Hi News strives to deliver powerful stories that spark emotion and focus on the place we live.

Over the past year, contributions from readers like you helped to fund some of our most important reporting, including coverage of the East Troublesome Fire.

If you value local journalism, consider making a contribution to our newsroom in support of the work we do.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User