Granby board swears in three new trustees, says goodbye to two long-time board members |

Granby board swears in three new trustees, says goodbye to two long-time board members

Tuesday was a night of change for the Granby Board of Trustees as two long-time board members said their final goodbyes and three new members were sworn in as municipal officials.

Now former Town Trustees Greg Mordini and Robin Trainor wrapped up their tenures with the Granby Board Tuesday night. Mordini has served on the Granby Board for the last 10 years while Trainor has represented the citizens of Granby for over a decade. Their departure comes after the recent spring 2018 municipal election in which neither Trainor nor Mordini sought reelection.

“It has been an honor to serve,” Mordini said before specifically thanking the town’s Finance Director Sharon Spurlin and praising the work of Town Clerk Deb Hess. Trainor echoed his comments and regarding Hess and Spurlin, along with comments thanking Granby Police Chief Jim Kraker and Town Manager Aaron Blair.

“I want to recognize the mayor, Paul Chavoustie, for what he has done in the last two years,” Trainor said. “I think we have seen more growth and positive movement in the last two years than we have seen in a decade or more.”

Two individuals who were newly elected this spring, Josh Hardy and Natascha O’Flaherty, have filled their seats. Hardy and O’Flaherty were sworn at the end of Tuesday night’s meeting along with Mary “Cathy” Tindle, who was selected by the Granby Board earlier in the evening to fill the seat of former Trustee Paul Robertson who passed away earlier this year.

The Board’s decision to select Tindle to fill Robertson’s seat is in keeping with selections made by previous boards. Historically the Granby Board has offered open seats to individuals who ran for office in the most recent election but were defeated by other candidates.

Robertson himself, who ran for a seat in 2014, was initially appointed to the Granby Board in 2016 after the passing of Charlie LaBrake. Robertson went on to win a seat outright in the spring 2016 election. Similarly the board initially appointed current Trustee Nick Raible in 2017 to fill a seat vacated by the resignation of Jane Harmon. Raible won a seat outright in the recent spring election.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grand County make the Sky-Hi News' work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User