Grand County Redistricting vote scheduled for Sept.13 |

Grand County Redistricting vote scheduled for Sept.13

The Grand County Board of County Commissioners consists of three elected officials, each representing a geographic district: James Newberry (district 1), Nancy Stuart (district 2) and Gary Bumgarner (district 3).

All three commissioners are elected at large by voters throughout the county, though they represent the district in which they reside for four-year staggered terms.

Based on 2010 Census population changes, the board of county commissioners is required to realign the districts so they are as equal as possible. According to the 2010 Census, district 3 now has 56 fewer people than in 2000, while districts 1 and 2 gained 1,441 and 1,016 respectively. On Aug. 9, the Commissioners held a public hearing regarding a proposed realignment of the district boundaries. The BOCC will vote on the realignment at 10:30 a.m. on Sept. 13.

A map of the three districts has been posted on the Grand County website at

For questions or concerns about redistricting, contact the BOCC at 970-725-3288.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

The Sky-Hi News strives to deliver powerful stories that spark emotion and focus on the place we live.

Over the past year, contributions from readers like you helped to fund some of our most important reporting, including coverage of the East Troublesome Fire.

If you value local journalism, consider making a contribution to our newsroom in support of the work we do.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User