Mayor elections heat up in Granby and Fraser |

Mayor elections heat up in Granby and Fraser

Sky-Hi News Staff
Grand County, CO Colorado

Races in Grand County towns are shaping up as follows.


Seats for mayor and four trustee positions are open in the Town of Fraser.

Two petitions for mayor were returned by trustees Scotty Brent and Peggy Smith. Smith’s trustee term is not expiring.

“Scotty Brent was up for re-election as a trustee but chose to run for mayor,” said Lu Berger, town clerk.

Trustees Philip Naill and Vesta Shapiro filed petitions for re-election. Trustee Eric Hoyhtya did not file for re-election.

“They (Naill and Shapiro) filled positions that were vacated so they have to run for their seats,” said Berger.

Jeff Pearson and Clark Lipscomb have filed trustee petitions, meaning four candidates are running for four open seats.

If Smith wins the mayoral race, then there will be one more trustee seat open that could be appointed by the trustees, said Berger.


Five board members of the Granby Town Board are up for election this year.

Four petitions for board members were returned: Elaine Henrekin, David Miller, Charles LaBrake, and Greg Mordini.

Petitions for mayor were filed by Jynnifer Pierro and Ed Magee.

The mayoral term is four years, and of the four trustee positions open, the first three top vote-getters will serve four-year terms and the fourth-highest vote-getter will serve a two-year term, which is the remainder of former trustee Ed Raffety’s term.

Grand Lake

The seats of Mayor Judy Burke and trustees Benton Johnson, Elmer Lanzi, Kathy Lewis and Tom Ludwig are all up for election in April in Grand Lake.

The April 3 election will be a polling place election at the town hall from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The ballot will consist of voting for trustees and the mayoral seat

Judy Burke is running unopposed for mayor. Four petitions have been received for trustee positions including James Strider Gasner, Thomas H. Ludwig, Elmer Lanzi, and Kathleen A. Lewis. Four seats are available and four petitions have been returned. The election will still take place, said town clerk Ronda Kolinske, since the candidate with the least number of votes will be appointed the two-year term.

Hot Sulphur Springs

The three board members up for election in Hot Sulphur Springs are Kathy Knight, Robert Shirley, and Lucy Meirose, all of whom filed petitions. Others who have submitted petitions are: Ken Anderson, Lori Baumgardner, Summer Shuster, and Christine Lee.

Hot Sulphur Springs is having its first mail ballot election. Mail ballot packets will only be mailed to active registered voters within the town of Hot Sulphur Springs. Those ballots can be returned by mail or dropped off at town hall during business hours 8 a.m. to noon and 1 p.m. to 5 p.m., Monday- Thursday, and 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day, April 3. All seats up for election are four-year terms.

The town hosts a ‘get to know the candidates’ 6:30 p.m. March 8 at Town Hall.


The Town of Kremmling has five trustee seats up for election. Ken Bentler, Rachel Killinen (who was appointed to the board recently), Mark Mahorney, Jason Wikberg and Erik Woog are those whose terms are expiring this April.

Incumbents who have filed petitions are Mark Mahorney and Erik Woog. Others residents who filed petitions are Wes Howell, Gina Schroeder, Scott Crandall, Scott Howell, Casey Curran, and Al Dvorak.

Up for election are three four-year terms and two two-year terms, with the candidates receiving the most votes assigned the four-year seats.

The town is conducting a mail ballot election. Ballots will be accepted at Town Hall during normal business hours, and from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day.

Winter Park

The Town of Winter Park has four council positions open: Katie Riemenschneider, Mayor Jim Myers, Chris Seemann, and Jimmy Lahrman. They have all have all filed their petitions to run again.

Myers’ mayoral position is not an elected position in Winter Park. His seat on the council is open and the mayor will be chosen by the council.

Besides selecting council members in the upcoming April election, voters will also decide on a referred measure regarding the continuation of the 1 percent sales and lodging tax.

Additional ballot measures are scheduled to be discussed at the upcoming Winter Park Town Council meeting at 5:30 p.m. on March 6. View the agenda on their website

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

The Sky-Hi News strives to deliver powerful stories that spark emotion and focus on the place we live.

Over the past year, contributions from readers like you helped to fund some of our most important reporting, including coverage of the East Troublesome Fire.

If you value local journalism, consider making a contribution to our newsroom in support of the work we do.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User