Results of the May 6 special districts election |

Results of the May 6 special districts election

Shawn Murphy drops his ballot into the Grand Lake Metropolitan Recreation District box on Tuesday, May 6, at the Grand Lake Fire Station, where three elections were held including Grand Lake Fire's and the Three Lakes Water and Sanitation District's.
Photo by Scott Munn |

11:45 p.m. — Grand Lake Fire Protection District will welcome three new board members, which according to unofficial election results, will likely be Mindy Everhart, Jason Allen and Larry Malouff. Incumbent Donald Dean was unseated.

Melinda Everhart — 170

Jason Allen — 149

Larry Malouff —130

Frank Reardon — 118

Donald Dean — 108

Jeff Buckley — 104

Richard Campbell — 93

Patricia Farmer — 81

Scott Huff – 73

Richard Sisung — 38

11:00 p.m. — Three Lakes Water & Sanitation District voters elected two board members for a four-year term and one board member for a two-year term. Julia Nessen-Gasner received the most votes for the four-year term at 117, but the second seat was a tight race. According to unofficial election results, Daniel S. Knox barely squeeked ahead of Connie Robertson by one vote. The two-year term will go to Pat Farmer.

Candidates for a four-year term:

Julia Nessen-Gasner — 117

Daniel S. Knox — 110

Connie Robertson — 109

Bernie Keefe — 106

Steve White — 56

Candidates for a two-year term:

Patricia Farmer — 97

Rudy Perez — 79

John Hanick — 69

11:00 p.m. ­— According to the Grand Lake Metropolitan Recreation District’s unofficial election results, George Coolin will retain his board position, while Patrick Williams and John Murray will take the other two board positions.

George Coolin 166

Patrick Williams 137

John Murray 128

Antionette (Tonie) Beckley 121

Jason Allen 99

David Boelter 62

Steve White 42

9:30 p.m. — Unofficial election results from the Fraser Valley Metropolitan Recreation District show incumbent John Glancey will retain his position while incumbent Andrew Chasin is unseated. David McKnight and Kimberly Hanna appear to have gained the second and third seats. While 35 lingering overseas ballots have yet to be counted, it seams Hanna’s position is secure, currently 69 votes ahead of fourth-place candidate Michael Shawn Moynahan.

John Glancey — 644

David McKnight —573

Kimberly Hanna — 536

Michael Shawn Moynahan — 467

David Jens Peterson —378

Andrew Chasin — 290

8:40 p.m. — In the first election results reported, it appears two Grand Fire Protection District No. 1 board incumbents will be keeping their seats. According to the Judges Unofficial Abstract, Michael Brooks swept with 156 votes, but newcomer Wayne Kerber came in second with 90 votes, unseating Rod Lock. With 83 votes, Dick Himes will also retain his board position.

Michael Brooks — 156

Wayne Kerber — 90

Richard Himes — 83

Rodney Lock — 62

Susan Thurton — 52

Alina Bell — 40

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

The Sky-Hi News strives to deliver powerful stories that spark emotion and focus on the place we live.

Over the past year, contributions from readers like you helped to fund some of our most important reporting, including coverage of the East Troublesome Fire.

If you value local journalism, consider making a contribution to our newsroom in support of the work we do.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User