Granby " Middle Park High School athletes earn fall awards |

Granby " Middle Park High School athletes earn fall awards

Many Middle Park High School athletes have been recognized for success during fall sports. Coaches establish different types of qualifications for players to receive varsity letters, including how much time athletes play.

If participants finish the season they are awarded a participation certificate.

Each sport has a banquet after the season, and there will also be one at the end of the school year, May 26, said Marlo Klassen, Middle Park High School assistant principal and athletic director.

Recipients of fall honors include:

Fall Spirit Team

Participants earning varsity letters are: Jennifer Cox, Braunwen Hoffman, Melissa Kelly, Toni Strandberg and Brooke Taylor.

Molly Lower, Paige Moon, Arielle Steinberg, and Randi Strandberg received participation certificates.


Receiving varsity letters are: Jake Charland, Kaylee Findley, Nicholas Isaacs, Mathew Naschak, Jared Rojo, Anthony Simone, Nicholas Stenicka and Daniel Walker.

Participation certificates were awarded to Parker Hale, Samuel Kerber, Coltan Kissler, Anthony Knochenmus and Alberto Sapien.


Elsa Krieg was named to the all conference first team; Shannan Stensvad and Anna Conrad made the second team; while Chelsea Comer-Lang received honorable mention. Kris Newberry also was named Coach of the Year.

The Panther volleyball team had 31 participants. Those who received letters are: Justine Bickler, Anna Conrad, Cheyenne Hickox, Jennifer Kinney, Elsa Krieg, Quincey Pedersen, Laurel Snow, Arielle Steinberg, Shannan Stensvad, Madison Zolnir and Chelsea Comer-Lang.

Athletes who received certificates are: Heather Butler, sophomore Reed Caldwell, Makayla Clausen, Allaura Cox, Jennifer Cox, Moreya Gardner, Brittany Herndon, Savannah Hickox, Rianna Hilton, Kathryn Jones, Dovile Klisauskaite, Audra Lorton, Molly Lowers, Tiffany Maestas, Sydney Markle, Brooke McClain, Haley Nordin, Jessica Ryall, Randi Strandberg and Brenna Dee.

Cross country

In the Frontier League, Samantha Berggren and Ryndi Zastrow made the all conference first team; Samantha Miyauchi made the second team, and honorable mention was awarded to Jessica Bondi, Lindsay Jones and Melissa Plum . Jim Courville was named Coach of the Year.

Samantha Berggren, Jessica Bondi, Jared Cooper, Matthew Curran, Hannah Garcia, Lindsay Jones, Kelly Little, Hugh McDonough, Samantha Miyauchi, Nicholas John O’Connor, Melissa Plum, Ryndi Zastrow, Nathaniel Ziegler, and Mathew Naschak received letters.

Sarah Williams will receive a participation certificate.

Boys Soccer

Panther players named to the Frontier League all conference team were Elliott Levett, Joey Coucke, and Dylan Foley; while Robert Johnson and Bartosz Koczera made the second team; and Walter Shoup made honorable mention.

The Boys Soccer players who received letters this year are: Simeon Anderson, Connor Barnes, Nathan Birdseye, Joseph Coucke, Justin Coucke, Brandon Cronin, Dylan Foley, Oscar Hernandez, Erik Hetzler, Robert Johnson, Bartosz Koczera, Timothy Leman, Jordan Lenhard, Elliott Levett, Lucas Mendez, Maxwell Meredith, Kyle Potts, Walter Shoup and Benjamin Welcome.

Receiving certificates of participation are: Patrick Barker, Ramsey Blahnik, Justin Bondi, Evan DeBakker, Phillip Feilitzsch-Hanl, Joshua Leman, Matheu Risley, Ezekiel Rohloff, Brandon Rosas, Erik Saffell, Sean Saffell, Michael Sobon, Mitchell Steffen, Andrew Tekansik, and Joshua Van Natta.


Rebecca Hugley was named first team all conference; while Katie Mattfeld and Katharyn Eliza Woodard were awarded all conference honorable mention.

All 15 softball teammates lettered: Katelyn Anderson, Kagen Boy, Shelby Brueske, Camile Clancy, Lihla Clancy, Madeline Clancy, Jamie Damon, Hannah Davidson, Alexandra Gallegos, Rebecca Hugley, Katie Mattfeld, Katy Mulligan, Katharyn Eliza Woodard, Jillian Yaklich, and Corinne Zimmerly.


The majority of the football team received letters: Kyle Anderson, Ruta Banyte, Cory Berger, Zane Bickler, Justin Cisneros, Michael Crippen, Samuel Damon, Jacob Finch, Mitchell Franek, Cody Griffith, Christofer Hillison, Patrick Hutchins, Matt Hydrusko, Ray Trey Jennings III, Justin Jimenez, James Knuth, Sam Little, Brian Macchione, Scott Malley, senior Karolina Marcinkeviciute, Dallas McCloskey, Charles Miller, Conner Nicklas, Mantas Raila, Cody Ransom, Jordan Reynolds, Marcus Schmidt, Michael Schmidt, Eric Scholl, Benjamin Shipman, Mitchell Sprague, Mitchal Strang, Ryan Suazo, Aaron Trainor, Dominic Valez, Joseph Visconti, and Adam Weaver.

Those who receives certificates for participation are: Travis Cheek, Andrew Hemm, Kelsey Nordin, Garrett Norris, Josiah Parker, Rytis Raila, Tyler Waldecker and Scott Weyers.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

The Sky-Hi News strives to deliver powerful stories that spark emotion and focus on the place we live.

Over the past year, contributions from readers like you helped to fund some of our most important reporting, including coverage of the East Troublesome Fire.

If you value local journalism, consider making a contribution to our newsroom in support of the work we do.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more