Kremmling " West Grand High School honors student athletes |

Kremmling " West Grand High School honors student athletes

West Grand High School is honoring its student athletes for their participation during the 2007-08 school year.

The Mustangs hosted an all-sports banquet on Thursday, May 22, for those students who were involved in at least one athletic activity during the school year. The following awards were presented by each coach or sponsor:

Pom Team

Varsity letters ” Seniors: Kimberly Bumgarner, Captain; Jessica Elliott, Co-Captain; Stephanie Stubbs and Chelsea Lassaline; Juniors: Danette Billington and Katie Keck; Sophomores: Erin Beason and Jessica Parker- Raecke; Freshmen: Sierra Malonson, Brandi Orand and Kassandra Pasillas; Coach: Elizabeth Koeppe


Varsity letters ” Seniors: Austin Sabados, Cory Davis, Colton Lawson, Drew Sidener, Mackenzie Widener, Louis Farrell, Patrick Quinlan, Michael Bunker, Robert Alvarez, Marshall Kraker, Austin Long and Keith Jones; Juniors: Cory Burr, Curtis Frederickson, Jake Motz, Eric Scholl, Sky Handyside, Drew Klotz and Travis Marquardt; Sophomores: Stetson Sabados and Raymond Vasquez; Freshmen: Connor Widener; Coaches: Chris Brown, Maurice Noll, Jim Wilson and Josh Pedersen

All-Conference ” Cory Burr, Defensive Line; Louis Farrell, Kick/Punt Return; Louis Farrell, Defensive End; Cory Davis, Linebacker; Jake Motz, Running Back; Drew Sidener, Defensive Line; Mackenzie Widener, Quarterback;

All Conference Honorable Mention ” Michael Bunker, Offensive Line; Marshall Kraker, Receiver; Eric Scholl, Linebacker

Certificates of Participation “Juniors: A.J. Silva, Will Elliott and Tyrel Cannon; Sophomores: Justin Stanfill; Freshmen: Tim Ritschard, Zach Adams, Lloyd Coleman, Chase Hill, Cade Reynolds, Lee Elliott, Summer Shearer and Kele Bock


Varsity letters ” Seniors: Jordan Davidson, Jessica Elliott, Stephanie Stubbs and Chelsea Lassaline; Juniors: Danette Billington, Rose Hargadine and Renea Ellison; Sophomores: Brook Cecil; Coaches: Laura Gore, Susan Billington, Cheryl Brown and Kelly Farrell

Certificates of Participation ” Freshmen; Alyse Billington, Taylor Pesch, Kassandra Pasillas, Sierra Malonson, Brandi Orand and Shelbee LePage; Sophomores: Melissa Kraker, Jessica Parker-Raecke, Brenda Heid and Erin Beason; Juniors: Rebecca Roller and Katie Keck

All Conference ” Jordan Davidson and Jessica Elliott

Coaches: Laura Gore, Susan Billington, Cheryl Brown and Kelly Farrell

Girls Basketball

Varsity letters ” Seniors: Jessica Elliott, Stephanie Stubbs, Jordan Davidson and Angie O’Neill; Juniors: Renea Ellison and Rose Hargadine; Sophomores: Erin Beason, Brook Cecil and Melissa Kraker; Freshmen: Alyse Billington and Taylor Pesch

Certificates of Participation “Juniors: Amy Grey and Rebecca Roller; Sophomores: Brenda Heid, Melissa Kraker and Madeline Roller; Freshmen: Taylor Pesch, Katherine Schonlau and Megan O’Neill; Manager: Karalynn Marshall

Coaches: Larry Banman, Joe Shields, Gary Beason, Kelly Farrell, Heather Bentler

Boys Basketball

Varsity letters ” Seniors: Cory Davis, Mackenzie Widener, Marshall Kraker and Rory Menhennett; Juniors: Sky Handyside, Drew Klotz, Ryan Smith and Matthew Johnson; Sophomores: Fletcher Flanigan and Stetson Sabados; Freshmen: Tim Ritschard, Connor Widener and Luke Miller

Certificates of Participation ” Sophomores: Chris Zagone; Seniors: Louis Farrell

Coaches: Leo Pesch and Ryan Eastin


Varsity letters ” Juniors: Eric Scholl

Certificates of Participation ” Freshmen: Zachary Adams, Kele Bock, Lee Elliott and Chase Hill; Juniors: Will Elliott and A.J. Silva

Coaches: Jeff Matney and Cody Mumma

Track and Field

Varsity letters ” Seniors: Jordan Davidson, Marshall Kraker, Drew Sidener, Jessica Elliott and Louis Farrell; Juniors: Danette Billington, Rose Hargadine, Drew Klotz, Cory Burr, Jake Motz, Renea Ellison, A.J. Silva and Richard Gamblin; Sophomores: Jessica Raecke, Melissa Kraker, Chris Zagone, Brook Cecil and Erin Beason; Freshmen: Taylor Pesch and Tim Ritschard

Coaches: Cheryl Brown, Chris Brown and Joe Shields

2A State: Louis Farrell, 3rd in the pole vault; Richard Gamblin, 8th in the pole vault; Jordan Davidson, 4th in pole vault; Danette Billington, 7th in 300 -meter hurdles; Erin Beason, 6th in the pole vault; and 4 x 400-meter relay team took 8th place

Scholar Athlete

The Scholar Athlete award is earned by maintaining a minimum of a 3.0 GPA for the year and either participating in three sports or lettering in two sports.

Sophomores ” Erin Beason, varsity letters in volleyball, pom, basketball and track; Brook Cecil, varsity letters in volleyball, basketball and track; Melissa Kraker, participate in volleyball and basketball, and varsity letter in track; Jessica Parker-Raecke ” varsity letters in pom and track, participate in volleyball

Juniors ” Danette Billington, varsity letters in volleyball, pom and track; Renea Ellison, varsity letters in volleyball, basketball and track; Rose Hargadine, varsity letters in volleyball, basketball and track; Drew Klotz, varsity letters in football, basketball and track; Sky Handyside, varsity letters in football and basketball

Seniors ” Jessica Elliott, varsity letters in pom, volleyball, basketball and track; Stephanie Stubbs, varsity letters in pom, volleyball and basketball; Jordan Davidson, varsity letters in volleyball, basketball and track; Marshall Kraker, varsity letters in football, basketball and track; Cory Davis, varsity letters in football and basketball; Mackenzie Widener, varsity letters in football and basketball

Chevron Award

The Chevron Award is earned by students who have successfully completed three sports in one year. Any students successfully completing three sports in four years receives the larger, four-year Chevron.

Four-Year Chevron Winner ” Jordan Davidson, Jessica Elliott, Marshall Kraker

Small Chevron ” Freshmen: Timothy Ritschard, Taylor Pesch; Sophomore: Erin Beason, Brook Cecil, Melissa Kraker and Jessica Raecke; Junior: Danette Billington, Renea Ellison, Rose Hargadine and Andrew Klotz

Outstanding Athlete Award

Certificate of Merit received by: Jordan Davidson and Marshall Kraker

Chet Hunter Award ” The Chet Hunter award is given each year to an individual or individuals that show support and dedication to the West Grand High School athletics program. The 2007-2008 recipient is Sandy Pedersen.

With the end of the school year, West Grand High School wishes to thank all of the parents, coaches and staff members who participated in helping the athletic program have another successful year.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

The Sky-Hi News strives to deliver powerful stories that spark emotion and focus on the place we live.

Over the past year, contributions from readers like you helped to fund some of our most important reporting, including coverage of the East Troublesome Fire.

If you value local journalism, consider making a contribution to our newsroom in support of the work we do.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User