Middle Park High School honors fall athletes | SkyHiNews.com

Middle Park High School honors fall athletes

by Will Bublitz
Sky-Hi Daily News

Middle Park High School is honoring its student athletes for another successful fall season of competition.

Several Panther athletes earned special recognition for their accomplishments during the just-finished 2007 fall season.

In the sport of cross country running, freshman Samantha Berggren was named to the All-State Team as well as being picked for the All-Conference First Team. Her teammate, junior Ryndi Zastrow, was selected for an All-Conference Honorable Mention.

Middle Park’s football team received several special awards, including:

All-Conference First Team ” senior Chad Sprague, tight end, and junior Mike Schmidt, linebacker; All-Conference Second Team ” senior Alex Morrow, linebacker, and senior Rod Garrett, offensive lineman; All-Conference Honorable Mention ” junior Justin Cisneros, defensive back, junior Mike Schmidt, quarterback and senior Chad Sprague, linebacker. Chad Sprague was also named as an alternate for the All-State Team as a tight end.

Three players on the Lady Panther volleyball team received All-Conference awards. Nina Palm, a senior, was picked for the First Team while senior teammate Hannah Brinkmann was named to the Second Team. Elsa Krieg, a freshman, received an All-Conference Honorable Mention.

Panther softball player Katelyn Anderson, a junior, received an All-Conference Honorable Mention.

Middle Park’s boys soccer team had a good fall season with three of its players earning All-Conference awards. Panther senior Ian Sutton was picked for the First Team while two fellow seniors, Luke Nutting and Mike Zieff, were named to the All-Conference Second Team.

Of special note is Patrick Jellum, the head coach of Middle Park High’s boys soccer team, was named Coach of the Year.

In addition to the special awards, Middle Park High has also named those student athletes for the fall season who are receiving varsity letters and certificates of participation. Those awards are being given to the following:


Varsity letters ” Kyle Anderson, Zane Bickler, Caleb Conger, Trevor Corbin, Michael Crippen, Samuel Damon, Brenna Dee, Nicholas Fisher, Trustin Fountain, Rodney Garrett, Shelby Garrett, Christofer Hillison, Patrick Hutchins, Matthew Hydrusko, Ray Jennings III, Charles Miller, Jessie Miniat, Alex Morrow, Raila Mantas, Cody Ransom, Jordan Reynolds, John Schirado, Marcus Schmidt, Michael Schmidt, Luke Schrader, Benjamin Shipman, Chadwick Sprague, Mitchell Sprague, Mitchal Strang, Zilvinas Sutkus, Aaron Trainor, Dominic Valdez, Joseph Visconti, Aaron Wood and Charles Martinez.

Certificates of participation ” Cory Berger, Colton Bull, Justin Cisneros, Christian Curiel, Mitchell Franek, Bart Hartley, Scott Malley, Conner Nicklas, Josiah Parker, Shane Peterson and Shane Smith.

Cross Country

Varsity letters ” Samantha Berggren, Jessica Bondi, Jared Cooper, Matthew Curran, Hannah Garcia, Kelly Little, Samantha Miyauchi, Matthew Naschak, Sarah Williams, Ryndi Zastrow and Nathaniel Ziegler.

Certificates of participation ” Christina Feilitzsch-Hanley and Kylie Kroneberger.


Varsity letters ” Hannah Brinkmann, Anna Conrad, Mateo Jackson, Elsa Krieg, Amelia Nicol, Mallory Nutting, Nina Palm, Quincey Pedersen, Shannan Stensvad and Cassandra Strang.

Certificates of participation ” Tamara Acord, Larissa Burg, Heather Butler, Reed Caldwell, Makayla Clausen, Jennifer Cox, Rebecca Day, Anastasia Edgar, Cheyenne Hickox, Molly Lowers, Tiffany Maestas, Brooke McClain, Kelsey Nordin, Melissa Plum, Jessica Ryall, Arielle Steinberg, Courtney Wood and Madison Zolnir.

Spirit Team

Varsity letters ” Emily Burnell, Brianna Gould, Melissa Kelly, Rachael Parker, Julia Sattelberger and Jennifer Cox.

Boys Soccer

Varsity letters ” Connor Barnes, Lindsey Birdseye, Nathan Birdseye, Dylan Foley, Cody Gardner, Erik Hetzler, Robert Johnson, Bartosz Koczera, Patrick Kohlwey, Timothy Leman, Elliott Levett, Maxwell Meredith, Zachary Theo Peterson, Nicholas Rankin, Walter Shoup, Ian Sutton, Jaime Sutton, Michael Zieff, Andrew Clausen and Luke Nutting.

Certificates of participation ” Victor Arellano, Patrick Barker, Joseph Coucke, Brandon Cronin, Tyler Florquist, Nicholas Goff, Nicholas Hadden, Oscar Hernandez, Sarunas Juedagalvis, Jordan Lenhard, Lucas Mendez, Uriel Molina, Nicholas O’Connor, Collin Papuga, Kyle Potts, Brandon Rosas, Sean Saffell, Michael Sobon, Mitchell Steffen, Joshua Van Natta, Benjamin Welcome and Nathaniel Ziegler.


Varsity letters ” Hans Berggren, Kaylee Findley, Parker Hale, Nicholas Isaacs, Anthony Knochenmus, Matthew Naschak, Jared Rojo and Daniel Walker.


Varsity letters ” Katelyn Anderson, Hannah Davidson, Emily Gerberding, Rebecca Hugley, Amanda Lange, Katelyn Mattfeld, Kelsey Peterson, Bailey Roberts, Heather Schrader, Jessica Thamann, Katharyn Woodard and Jillian Yaklich.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grand County make the Sky-Hi News' work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User