Three Grand County towns will share building department |

Three Grand County towns will share building department

Reid Armstrong
Sky-Hi Daily News
Grand County, CO Colorado

The towns of Fraser and Winter Park have agreed to share a building department with the Town of Granby. The deal was sealed last Wednesday night when Fraser became the last of the three towns to approve the intergovernmental agreement.

Granby Mayor Jynnifer Pierro assuaged the Fraser town board’s concerns, stating that the Granby board of trustees sees this as a long term solution and not just a stopgap measure.

Granby terminated its contract with SafeBuilt last month following complaints about lagging response times and inspector turnover. The straw that broke the camel’s back was when the town could barely get its own project – the pavilion behind town hall – completed due to a lack of response from SafeBuilt, even during a slow year.

The Winter Park-Fraser-Granby building official will be Harold Howland, and the inspector will be Brian Szczepanski. The department will be headquarted and managed in Winter Park, but Howland will stop by the Granby town office every morning on his way to work to pick up permit applications and other communications, he told the Winter Park board earlier this month.

The three towns will now work to unify processes and codes and to update information on applications and websites, said Fraser town manager Jeff Durbin.

The towns also are discussing how to handle electrical inspections, said Winter Park town manager Drew Nelson. SafeBuilt previously conducted specialized inspections for all three towns. Winter Park and Fraser may continue to use SafeBuilt, Nelson said, but Granby will likely be contracting with local electrical inspectors on an as-needed basis.

– Reid Armstrong can be reached at 970-887-3334 ext. 19610 or