Towns see healthy interest in candidacy for public office |

Towns see healthy interest in candidacy for public office

Reid Tulley

The upcoming election will see competition for town board positions in nearly each municipality in Grand County, with a number of incumbents running for previously-held positions as well as a few new faces gunning to gain a new title.

All municipalities in Grand County will operate April’s election as a polling election due to a change in the way clerks conduct mail-ballot elections in accordance with House Bill 13-1303.

While legislation to reverse some of the actions taken in House Bill 13-1303 passed, local town clerks chose to conduct a poll election as they were not sure whether the legislation to reverse House Bill 13-1303 would be in effect in time for the April election date. Mail-in voters on county registration lists should still request absentee ballots through their respective municipalities. Absentee ballot applications are due back to towns no later than March 28.

Winter Park

Since Winter Park is a home-rule town, it has different election-related dates than other municipalities in Grand County. Winter Park’s polling day is April 8. March 17 marks the last day for write-in affidavits.

Winter Park will have four vacancies up for grabs during April’s election. Three of the positions will be four-year terms, while the fourth will be a two-year term. The candidate with the fourth highest number of votes will receive the two-year position while the candidates with the three highest votes will receive the four-year terms. The board members whose positions will open include Vince Turner, Barbara Atwater, Mike Periolat, and Katie Riemenschneider.

Vince Turner is the only incumbent not running. Three other candidates include Charles “Chuck” Banks, Nick Kutrumbos, and Peggy Woods.


Fraser will have four positions open on the town board, and all of the open positions are four-year terms. Steve Sumrall, Vesta Shapiro, Cheri Sanders, and Adam Cwiklin currently hold the positions.

Fraser has six candidates who will compete for the positions including two incumbents; Steve Sumrall and Vesta Shapiro.

The remaining candidates are Andy Miller, Cody Clayton Taylor, Jane Mather, and Katie Soles.


Three positions will open on the town board in Granby, all of which are four-year terms.

Deborah Shaw, Kenneth Coatney, and Charles LaBrake currently hold the positions.

All three trustees whose seats are opening up will be running for re-election, with three other individuals vying for positions.

The three newcomers include Robin A. Trainor, Rebecca (Becky) Johnson, and Paul Robertson.

Grand Lake

Grand Lake will have three, four-year term seats opening up this April.

Tom Ludwig, Jim Peterson, and Tom Wydert currently hold the positions and none of the board members who are vacating the positions are seeking re-election.

Lance Sabo, Lisa Jenkins, Jeanie Baird, and Edward Underwood will be competing to fill the open seats.

Hot Sulphur Springs

The Town of Hot Sulphur Springs has cancelled its election for having the same number of candidates as open seats . The mayor’s position long held by Hershal Deputy is being filled by incumbent Robert McVay, who served as trustee. McVay, Nolan and Sally DiScuillo have been declared elected.


Kremmling will not hold an election because the mayor’s position opening up was unopposed by Thomas Clark, the current mayor, and only enough candidates entered the race to fill the vacant positions. Two incumbents from the town board who will continue to sit on the board include Scott Crandall and Wes Howell and Guy Bakke filled the third position.

Reid Tulley can be reached at 970-887-3334

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

The Sky-Hi News strives to deliver powerful stories that spark emotion and focus on the place we live.

Over the past year, contributions from readers like you helped to fund some of our most important reporting, including coverage of the East Troublesome Fire.

If you value local journalism, consider making a contribution to our newsroom in support of the work we do.